Dodgeball in Heaven

royal-college-art-jannuzzi-smith-sustain

So I am laying in bed last night and I was praying on Matthew who passed away recently. He was a 7 year old amazing child who was fighting cancer and I prayed that his “arrival” into heaven was met with lots of loving amazing people and my grandparents and friends we also there to take him in.

For some reason, it made me think of dodgeball when I was a kid. I was actually really good at dodgeball so I rarely got hit but when I did I remember walking out of the game and being met by teachers and friends who were there with smiling faces and they would pat you on the back for playing your heart out and you would sit out and watch the rest of the game take place.

Then I thought…

What if LIFE on earth is like a hardcore dodgeball match where your just getting everything thrown at you and your objective gives you a few options. Get hit, get out and watch the rest of the players go for the win. Dodge, bob and weave everything thats being thrown at you, pick it up and throw it back, or just stand there and get out without even trying.

What if LIFE in heaven is like the invisible “side line” where once your out, your greeted by all your passed friends and relatives and new friends who welcome you up with a box of popcorn, soda or beer of your choice and you get to sit down and watch the rest of the world play while cheering them on.

What if we knew you were up there cheering us on from the sidelines. We couldn’t hear you, we couldn’t see you but we could feel you in our hearts and every now and then when a “miracle” happened we just kinda knew it was you putting a little extra help on that cheer =)

I woke up this morning and one of the first things I read was from an old friend who posted on his facebook that he would be going back to living on the streets and he was grateful for the friends and family who put up with him. I thought about him and I thought about some people in my life who recently just passed away… Matthew, David and then I thought about all the people who affected me with their passing over the years… Alika, Darwin, Brandon, Todd, my grandparents, and a handful of others.

It made me smile because it boils down to this one thing. WE ARE STILL IN THE GAME.

Regardless of where we are at emotionally or financially, whether were on the street or in a multimillion dollar home. Life can throw a ball at you that changes your situation immediately. One minute your in, one minute your out. The only difference with Dodgeball is that after about 5 minutes you get to get back in. With life, once your out, your out for good.

Never forget that no matter where you are in life, you are sustained. I am going to leave with the opening lyrics of a song I wrote last year and havent recorded yet but I think of these lyrics every time I am in a rough spot.

“I am sustained, I shall not want the things, that only complicate me, I am sustained and I am getting stronger, I wont walk away, i promise to remain, in faith thats never fleeting, i promise to remain unchanged”

I hope those words impact you on a deeper level then just words in a wordpress blog. Your still in the game, so get out there and let whatever is hitting you or about to hit you, change you and make you stronger.

When it is time to give your body back to the earth, make sure you can do that with peace and make sure you never have regrets about how hard you played while you were in the game. You are sustained.

5 thoughts on “Dodgeball in Heaven

  1. The things you write always seem to bring tears to my eyes! As cheesy and whack as this may sound, since the first time we talked (years ago, NP myspace, hollaaaa, ha) you have inspired me and your writings have given me so many new meanings about life and how i look at things. ive always loved the quote ‘be the change you want to see in the world’ , and if we had more people in the world who cared at least half as much as you do about others, we would live in a better time! you have amazing heart and soul , and your positivity and compassion just radiates from you..

  2. Wow. These are beautiful words. I am so sorry about Matthew, but you are so right. We are still in the game, we are sustained and the Lord provides. Even though we have balls being hucked at our faces, we get to go on. Such is not the case for a lot of people.

    I was searching for people to post to about my fundraising efforts and didn’t really expect to come across a blog that spoke to me. But, your’s did. I lost my Mom to cancer. I cared for her 24/7 and saw how horrid the disease is. The fact that innocent children have to suffer and die makes my heart just ache.

    In Mom’s honor and for those fighting or who have lost their lives, and in hopes of making the future brighter for my children; I have joined team in training through the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society to help patients and families in need as well as fund research.

    I won’t post the form note I had planned to paste, but if you are interested in donating to the cause, you can contact me for the info.

    Again, very well written blog. A good reminder to remember that we don’t have it as bad as some.

    Blessings.

  3. It’s almost a year since you wrote this, but I just found it, while doing a web search on my nephew, Alika Hew. i do this occasionally. Your words are beautiful and you have so much wisdom. I never heard your band play, but would like to know about any bands you’re now in or performances that might be upcoming. I’ve read several of your posts — you’re incredibly wise beyond your years. Gives me hope for this younger generation. You’re inheriting a really messed up world.

Leave a comment